The Assessment, Research, and Evaluation Department is responsible for facilitating the adherence to, and use of, assessments at a state and local level. Once results are available, A.R.E. is also responsible for distributing the subsequent data received from these assessments to the appropriate stakeholders. 

These assessments can be broken into three general categories:

1.    State Mandated: including CAASPP, ELPAC, and PFT

2.    Optional: including SAT/ACT, CHSPE, NAEP, 

3.    Local: including curriculum embedded assessments for most courses

A brief overview, as well as links to further information, for each of these assessments can be found below.

State Mandated Assessments


California Assessment of Student Performance and Progress

Topics assessed include: ELA and Math at grades 3-8 and 11, and Science at grades 5, 8, and high school.

Please CLICK HERE to go to our CAASPP page for more information.


English Language Proficiency Assessments for California. 

The state of California utilizes the ELPAC to measure the English Proficiency Status of our grades K-12 English Learner students for both Initial and Summative assessments. 

For more information these assessments, please CLICK HERE to go to our ELPAC page.


Physical Fitness Test

The PFT is a hands-on assessment, to gauge the physical ability of our students and is administered in grades 5, 7, and 9. 

For more information on this assessment, please CLICK HERE to go to our PFT page. 

Optional Assessments


The ACT is the leading US college admissions test measuring what you learn in high school to determine your academic readiness for college.

The ACT is a national college admissions examination that consists of subject area tests in: English, Mathematics, Reading and Science.  ACT results are accepted by all four-year colleges and universities in the US. 

The ACT includes 215 multiple-choice questions and takes approximately 3 hours and 30 minutes to completes, including a short break.


California High School Equivalency Tests

California has approved the use of three high school equivalency tests for students 18 years and older, and 17 years old in some instances, for the purpose of receiving a California High School Equivalency Certificate.  These three tests are: General Educational Development (GED), High School Equivalency Test (HiSET), and Test Assessing Secondary Completion (TASC)

To obtain an official California High School Equivalency Certificate test takers must meet all of the following State requirements: 

  • You have not completed high school
  • You are a California resident or a member of the armed services assigned to duty in the state of California
  • You have passed all portions of a High School Equivalency (HSE) Test that has been approved by the State Board of Education taken at a testing center that has been approved by California Department of Education

Information regarding the GED

Information regarding the HiSET

Information regarding the TASC

California High School Proficiency Examination (CHSPE)

CHSPE is a test for students who need to verify high school level skills.  In some cased, students take the test and leave high school early to work or attend college,  Those who pass the test receive a Certificate of Proficiency from the State Board of Education, which is equal by law to a California high school diploma. 

People who are 16 years of age or older may take the test.  Younger people who meet other criteria can also take the test.  This test is given twice each year at many sites in California.  The test covers three subjects: reading, writing, and math.  There is a fee to take the test.

Information regarding the CHSPE

College Board - SAT and AP Programs

The College Board is a mission-driven not-for-profit organization that connects students to college success and opportunity. 

Founded in 1900, the College Board was created to expand access to higher education.  Today, the membership association is made up of over 6,000 of the world's leading educational institutions and is dedicated to promoting excellence and equity in education. 

Each year, the College Board helps more than even million students prepare for a successful transition to college through programs and services in college readiness and college success - including the SAT and the Advanced Placement (AP) Program.  The organization also serves the education community through research and advocacy on behalf of students, educators and schools.

College Board

NAEP - National Assessment of Education Progress

NAEP provides a common yardstick for measuring the progress of students' education across the country.  While each state has its own unique assessment, NAEP asks the same questions in every state - making state comparisons possible. 


NAEP has often been called the "gold standard" of assessments because of its high technical quality and because it represents the best thinking of assessment specialists, education experts, teachers, and content specialists from around the nation.  NAEP reports information on student performance for the nation, states, and in some cases, urban districts in a variety of subject areas.  NAEP also presents results for different student groups (including data by gender, socioeconomic status, and race/ethnicity).  The results of NAEP are released as The Nation's Report Card.  There are no results for individual students, classrooms, or schools.


For additional information regarding NAEP and the available results:  CLICK HERE

Local Assessments

Overview and Resources

District common assessments are administered to students in grades K-12 in the Lodi Unified School District.  In general, participation in the district's system of common assessments is based on criteria found within the subject matter tabs below. 


English Language Arts

  • Grade kindergarten (K) through six (6) students are assessed with the Journey's End-of-Unit assessments six times throughout the year. 
  • Grade seven (7) through twelve (12) students are assessed with the Study Sync End-of-Unit assessments four times throughout the year. 

Links to Curriculum Websites


  • Grade kindergarten (K) through five (5) students are assessed with the Math Expressions End-of-Unit Assessments throughout the year. 
  • Grade six (6) through grade eight (8) students are assessed with the CMP End-of-Unit Assessments throughout the year. 
  • Grade nine (9) through grade twelve (12) students are assessed with the Mid- and End-of-Year Assessments for the course they are taking. 

Links to Curriculum Websites


  • Grade kindergarten (K) through grade eight (8) students may be assessed with the available online assessments for their course.

*New assessments for every grade level will be available with a new curriculum adoption*

Link to Assessment Website

History/Social Science

  • Grade seven (7) through grade eight (8) students may be assessed with the available online assessments for their course.

*New assessments for every grade level will be available with a new curriculum adoption* 

Link to Assessment Website